More Election Propaganda – and the 2nd Leaders’ Debate

They (whoever they are) say that a week is a long time in politics. And this last week or so has indeed been both long and eventful – as far as the general election campaign is concerned anyway. Thursday night saw the second of three televised leaders’ debates, this time on foreign policy issues. To this observer at least, the debate seemed to be more fiery and bad-tempered than that of the week before.

Voices were raised, impatient interruptions were made, very little of any actual substance was said, and there was much less agreeing with Nick this time – David Cameron publicly accused a sneery Gordon Brown of scaremongering and being an out-and-out liar, and they both laid into Nick Clegg in a seemingly pointless effort to flatten ‘Cleggmania’ before it can become truly politically dangerous.

It is interesting to see Brown and Cameron (as well as certain parts of the media) so obviously threatened by a man previously as politically anonymous as Nick Clegg. Both Labour and the Tories always knew that this was going to be a close-run election campaign, but the (perhaps not entirely unexpected) emergence of the Liberal Democrats has got them rattled now – the fact that the old two-party system is now being blown wide open can easily be read as further proof that the electorate is heartily sick and tired of the current, broken political system.

If the main political parties weren’t desperate before the leaders’ debates they certainly are now; and this, I have long suspected, is most particularly true of the Tories. What with dubious poll results, fellow Tories calling Cameron “an embarrassing failure”, his smug and rather slimy performances in the two leaders’ debates so far, and the veritable avalanche of begging Conservative election literature landing on my doormat almost daily, I think it’s safe to say that things aren’t going particularly well at Conservative HQ.

In fact, things are going so badly that the Tories have resorted to sending out desperate letters from Lord Snooty himself, personally addressed to various random people on the electoral register in their target constituencies – including me, amusingly enough. And an hilarious letter it is too…

As someone who grew up in a Britain wrecked by successive Tory governments in the 1980s and 1990s, do they really expect me to believe that:

“A new Conservative government will be on the side of everyone who wants to get on in life”

Or that, laughably, he thinks that:

“… the Conservatives… have the energy, leadership and values to get our country moving”

Or that they’ll actually listen to us when they ask:

“Tell us what you think about the change Britain needs”

My response to that last in a Tory context is probably unprintable…

And also on the subject of unprintable responses, I came home on Thursday afternoon to find a BNP election leaflet on the doormat. My personal views on the British National Party and their revolting so-called ‘policies’ are well known to regular readers, and this “election communication” from the local BNP candidate is a spectacularly bad example of their pathetic and amateurish campaigning style.

Their brightly coloured, shouty leaflet (which is clearly designed with the hard of thinking in mind) informs me that the party aims to:

“Put… British people first! We’re NOT Second Class Citizens”

Would that be all British people you want to put first, then? All British people of all races, genders, sexualities and backgrounds? Nope, didn’t think so.

The badly photoshopped image below this rambling of Nick Griffin next to Winston Churchill would be laughable if it wasn’t – and do the ‘ordinary people’ pictured on the leaflet know what their images are being used for? If I remember correctly, the BNP have been caught out on this before…

Their warped sense of entitlement is most clear in their slyly vindictive slogan, which really tells you all you need to know about this lot and what they stand for:

“GET EVEN – Vote British National Party”

And their downright stupidity is clearly on display here too – only the BNP could have a campaign leaflet that loudly trumpets:

“The £18 billion Lab-Lib-Con give China and India to ‘adapt’ to non-existent Climate Change [my emphasis] should go to our pensioners”

and which then politely asks the reader to recycle said leaflet (“Thank you!”)…

Says it all, really!

For those readers who are not so fond of politics, I am afraid you will find little else here until after the election on May 6th! There is more Election Propaganda on the way – we haven’t even got to the Liberal Democrat and Green Party election literature yet, and the third and final leaders’ debate will be on Thursday 29th April.

Your comments are always welcome here, I’d love to hear from you. What are your views on the debates so far? Do you think the Liberal Democrats stand a chance now? Will you be voting? Have you decided who to vote for? Have you received any particularly hilarious election literature from your local candidates? Tell me about it!

NB: No names, no pack drill. In the spirit of non-partisan fair play, equal rights to criticism for all, and because I refuse to do their campaigning for them, none of the local candidates whose election literature I’ll be looking at on Another Kind Of Mind will be individually named. However, regular readers and those prepared to do a little Googling will not find it difficult to figure out to whom I am referring!

Bookmark and Share

4 comments

  1. Alisha

    Hello. Firstly I would like to say… I like your blog! It has some of the views that I agree with but other people just don’t seem to see!

    What I find scary is that these thugs in suits (BNP) have a platform to express their opinions and more than this, I find it scary that people actually believe what is being said. Although I find it scary I can, in a way understand it. Whenever a recession hits then people start panicking and going crazy! I remember my mam telling me stories of when the National Front Party used to be around (the old BNP) and when the teachers in her school let the Asian and Black students out of the class 5 minutes early at home time so that they could get a RUNNING head start! My fear is that with all of the bad feeling going around that this once fairly caring nation is going to turn into another battle ground!

    My blog looks at who I will vote for on Election Day. I find myself looking at not who I WANT to vote for but who I think it would be BETTER to vote for. In an attempt to keep out these extreme parties I think i’m going to have to vote from one of the three main parties! It would be nice to hear from you on my blog; give some people something to think about :-) http://alishasw.wordpress.com/

    Hope to hear from you soon and hope to hear some of your views on my blog too!

    Alisha.

    • trickygirl

      Thank you for your comment Alisha.

      I think you have a very good point in that people panic and give into fear at times of crisis – and the likes of the BNP play on and manipulate the fear of what people perceive as ‘other’. I grew up and still live in a very multicultural area of London, where the NF were active during my early childhood in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Fortunately, the BNP have never done particularly well in elections round here, although their threat should never be underestimated anywhere.

      I really like the idea of your blog. It’s a good question to ask – we all have our own political beliefs but which party would actually do the best job for our country? I’m not sure there are any easy answers to that, but, as you say, it’s good to get people thinking about this subject. It’s probably easiest to concentrate on the three main parties, but I wouldn’t completely exclude the likes of the Greens (it is likely that they will do quite well in the election).

      Thanks for adding me to your blog roll!

  2. Trackback: uberVU - social comments
  3. Pingback: Election Propaganda: Policy and Electoral Reform Edition « Another Kind Of Mind

What do you think?

