Compromised email account

I got home yesterday to find a flood of messages from various friends who were concerned that my main email address was sending out spam messages (you know the sort of thing: dodgy offers for those little blue pills used by gentlemen wishing to perk up their love lives and the like). Needless to say, I wasn’t very happy about this – especially as the compromised email address is associated with a number of other website accounts, as well as being linked to the separate gmail address I use for Another Kind Of Mind.

I’m still trying to find out what has happened (and whether this has any connection with the fact that I currently can’t log into Twitter either!) – but in the meantime, I have reset both email account passwords and that for my WordPress account. I don’t think Another Kind Of Mind or the associated gmail account have been affected by this, but if you are a subscriber or commenter and you have received spam messages purporting to come from me or from this blog, please let me know.

If you have been affected, please accept my apologies (I am very hot on security and privacy on this blog – see here for more details) and be assured that I am making every effort to ensure that this doesn’t happen again!

2 comments

  1. Mike

    It sounds as though a virus or other malware has slipped through your AV application – it does happen.
    I would suggest you have nothing to lose by running free ‘House Call’ to double check (I do about every 4 weeks or so – have totally lost faith in the AV I’m using this year) I have an article at http://graphicline.co.za/content/using-house-call with a link to the download page.
    Best wishes.
    Mike

    • trickygirl

      It could be malware of some kind – I did a full AV scan last night and nothing came up, so you may well be right there. I’ll certainly check out your article. Thanks for the info!

What do you think?

